DATABASES FOR ADULTS

HISTORY

 

Advanced Placement US History Advance placement US history

 Designed to support Advanced Placement Program U.S. History courses, this collection of mostly peer-reviewed journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought and events in U.S. History.

Canada in contextCanada in Context

Gale's Canada in Contect covers a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events. Written from a Canadian perspective with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and linds to vetted websites, all organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as "Search Assist" and quick fact boxes.

CPIQCPIQ (Canadian Periodicals)

English and French Canadian periodicals; Full text articles; Selections from the Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine; Canadian News Facts; and encyclopedic reference materials, such as the Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers.

Canadian points of viewCanadian Points of View

Full-text of Canadian and international magazines, newspapers and reference titles.


Expanded academicExpanded Academic ASAP

Providing full-text magazine coverage in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology, national news, general interest, newswires, and The New York Times on topics such as advertising, microbiology, history and women's studies.

General OnefileGeneral Onefile

Provides instant access to periodical and news content and indexing from a variety of mainstream and specialized sources from The New York Times to refereed academic journals.

General Reference Center GoldGeneral Reference Center Gold

Full-text and image resources from general interest and business magazines, newspapers, and reference books, with information about current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences.

Ontario historical newspapersOntario HIstorical Newspapers

Community and historical newspapers of Ontario: Acton Free Press, British Whig, Canadian Illustrated News, Essex Free Press, Georgetown Herald, Kingston Chronicle, Kingston Gazette, Marine Record, Provincial Freeman, Stouffville Sun-Tribune, Voice of the Fugitive

Our OntarioOur Ontario - discovery portal

Find digital photos, maps, videos, podcasts, and documents about Ontario people, places, events, history and culture.

World history collectionWorld History Collection

The study of history is as much about the present as the past: to that end, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field